Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Programme for International Student Assessment

www.pisa.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

PISA 2003

PISA measures three domains: mathematical literacy, reading literacy, and scientific literacy. In addition, PISA 2003 measured problem-solving skills. Forty-one countries participated in the 2003 PISA survey. PISA 2003 consisted of the following:

  • School assessment, during regular school hours in April and May 2003. This assessment was a paper-and-pencil test lasting a total of two hours.
  • A 20-minute student background questionnaire providing information about themselves and their home.
  • A 10-minute questionnaire on information technology and communications.
  • School principals were asked to complete a 20-minute questionnaire about their schools.

Furthermore, as part of PISA, national options could also be implemented. Canada chose to add a 20-minute student questionnaire from the Youth in Transition Survey (YITS) in order to collect more information on 15-year-olds' school experiences, work activities and relationships with others. Finally, a 30-minute interview was conducted with parents.

Between 4,000 and 10,000 students were assessed in each participating country. In Canada, approximately 28,000 15-year-old students from more than 1,000 schools participated in PISA in order to collect information at the provincial level and to allow for estimates for both official language groups.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-11-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves

www.pisa.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

PISA 2003

Le PISA vise trois domaines : la culture mathématique, la compréhension de l'écrit et la culture scientifique. De plus, le PISA 2003 a mesuré les compétences en résolution de problèmes. Quarante-et-un pays ont participé à l'enquête du PISA en 2003, qui était constituée des éléments suivants :

  • Un test papier-crayon d'une durée totale de deux heures menée dans les écoles, durant les heures normales de cours, en avril et en mai 2003.
  • Un questionnaire de référence de 20 minutes auprès des élèves permettant de recueillir des renseignements à leur sujet et sur leur vie à la maison.
  • Un questionnaire de 10 minutes auprès des élèves sur la technologie de l'information et des communications.
  • Un questionnaire de 20 minutes auprès des directeurs portant sur leur école

De plus, le PISA permet la mise en œuvre d'options nationales. Le Canada a donc choisi d'ajouter un questionnaire contextuel de 20 minutes à remplir par les élèves, tiré de de l'Enquête auprès des jeunes en transition (EJET), afin de recueillir des renseignements plus complets sur l'expérience scolaire des jeunes de 15 ans, leur travail et leurs relations avec autrui. Enfin, des entrevues de 30 minutes ont été menées auprès des parents.

Dans chaque pays, de 4 000 à 10 000 élèves était évalués. Au Canada, environ 28 000 élèves de 15 ans sélectionnés dans plus de 1 000 écoles ont participé à l'enquête de PISA afin de recueillir des renseignements à l'échelon provincial et de faire des estimations pour les deux groupes linguistiques officiels.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-11-23